ARC - Books in exchange for an honest review · Author: Eve Ainsworth · Authors · Book Reviews

Book Review » Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth

Title: Seven Days

Author:
Eve Ainsworth

Genre:
Young Adult; Romance; Realistic Fiction; Contemporary.

ISBN: 9781407146911

Published:
2015

Publisher: Scholastic

Format: Paperback / ARC format

Pages: 249

Synopsis: This bold, compelling and topical story about bullying is told from the perspective of the bully and the bullied. You won’t be able put it down until you’ve reached the conclusion. Jess’s life is difficult enough without Kez picking on her – it’s turning school from a safe place into a nightmare. Kez has plenty of problems too but she finds comfort in knowing she is better off than Jess – or so she thinks. A hard-hitting and even-handed look at bullying and the issues facing teenagers today.“

MY RATING: 3.5 Starts

MY OPINION:

This book was sent to me in exchange for a honest review… so basically I had to read it until the end of March which means that I really needed to read this book as soon as possible… so I did it!
I knew nothing about this story, I only knew that it was a realistic fiction book about bullying, and I was not totally sure about that, so I can say that this book kind of surprised me… a LOT.

This story is about two girls, Jess and Kez… Jess is one of those girls who actually suffers from bullying and Kez is one of the bullies… the thing is, in this book we can see what happens with the two of them… we can read Jess’s toughts and Kez’s toughts too… so it basically is subdivided in 3 bullies, 1 target, 2 victims, 7 days/7 parts of the book.
There’s no main character… I mean, “there’s main character” because all of the books need to have a main character… but in this case there are two main characters and not just one – Kez and Jess.

So, Jess is 14 years old, she’s quite overweight, she’s shy… and she suffers from bullying at school. She lives with her sister and with her mother, but they have problems with money, so her life isn’t easy neither at home or at school.
Kez is one of the bullies, she’s popular, pretty and confident, but she has problems too… her dad is violent and her mom suffers from domestic violence.

Something that was for me quite interesting in this book was the fact that we can actually see the diferences between the two main characters, we can just look deep into Jess and Kez’s lives, which is quite cool. Reading this book we just never know what is really going to happen… you just think that you know everything but actually you know nothing… reading this story we can understand why these characters are what they are… why Jess is the victim, why Kez is the bully.
When I started reading this book I really thought that I was going to hate the bully girl… and I have to admit it, the first chapter?! Yes, I hated her… but then, when I found that I was going to be able to read more about her life, about why she is like she is?! GOD, I don’t hate her… I kind of understand her. Don’t get me wrong, BULLYING is not a good thing, but sometimes people do what they do for a reason, and we have to try to understand their story, we have to try to understand their point of view, and personally I think that this book really describes it perfectly.

This story teach us about some serious stuff, some serious topics of REAL LIFE, things that we hear everyday on TV, that we read almost everyday about… and I have something to tell you, not everything that teenagers dramatize about is just drama… not everything that teenagers say that is a problem is crap…. actually there’s something about teenagers that we have to understand… teenagers more than everyone learn with their mistakes, and sometimes bad things happen because they don’t know how to handle with some stuff alone, and sometimes “grown up people” don’t think that “young people” have real problems so they just don’t care, they just don’t listen and bad, really bad things happen…

I personally learnt a few things with this book… and I honestly recommend it to everyone because it was pretty cool… it was serious stuff, even if I’m used to read “cute” stuff about teenagers, even if I’m used to read young adult romances… it was different and I really enjoyed it… if you read some of my “old” reviews you can actually see that I’m not a huge fan of realistic fiction, exactly because I can’t stand TEENAGE DRAMA… but this kind of teen drama is different, and if you are like me… if you don’t like realistic fiction I’m saying to you that you’ll not be disappointed reading this book… and if you love realistic fiction?! EVEN BETTER… you’ll love this book more than anyone!

__________________________________________________________________________

If you want to read this book, if you want to own it then just CLICK HERE and buy it on BookDepository.

 

Leave a comment