Author: Anne Blankman · Authors · Book Reviews

Title: Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Author:
Anne Blankman

Genre:
Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Romance.

ISBN: 9781472207852

Published: 2015

Publisher: Headline

Format: Paperback

Pages: 384

Goodreads Synopsis: The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler’s inner circle. More than a year ago, she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich to live in Oxford, posing as an ordinary German immigrant. Her love, Daniel Cohen, is a reporter in town, and Gretchen is content. Then a telegram sends Daniel back to Germany, and her world turns upside-down when she learns that Daniel is wanted for murder. To save him, she must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture and recognition by her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as she and Daniel work to clear his name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time – or will Hitler discover them first?

MY RATING: 4.5 Starts

MY OPINION:

About this second book. I really liked this sequel and I really liked the plot, the characters (not all of them) and everything that was happening in the story, but the thing is, the first book was kind of better than this one !

The were some parts of this book I was like “ok, maybe this part could go away” and I am mainly talking about the romance part of the story, I like romance, I like historical fiction right now BUT I wasn’t expecting some romantic parts to appear in this book, and I mean I really love romances I just didn’t want to see romance in this book don’t really know why.

I need to say that I don’t like Gretchen’s mom anymore, sometimes I wasn’t connecting with the main character Gretchen but I still liked her. I really continue loving Daniel a lot and something happens in this book and that “something” made me really sad because I didn’t know what was going to happen and of course I’m not telling you what that thing is because guys, I don’t want to spoil you and I’m not that kind of person who writes reviews with spoilers, at least for now.

I guess that what’s missing here is a third book but without the romance part, I mean I know Gretchen is the main character but I would love to read more about Hitler and Eva I guess that would be really interesting.

Of course that I recommend this book to everyone because I gave it a 4.5 Stars and yes I loved it even though I had things to say about it, so go and grab the first book and as soon as you finish it just grab this one and read it, you’ll love them !

__________________________________________________________________

THE BOOK DEPOSITORY LINK

Leave a Reply

