Author: Rupi Kaur · Authors · Book Reviews

Book Review » Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Title: Milk and Honey

Author:
Rupi Kaur

Genre:
Poetry, Non-Fiction, Feminism.

ISBN: 9781449474256

Published: 2015

Publisher: Andrews McMeel

Format: Paperback

Pages: 204

Goodreads Synopsis: this is the journey of
surviving through poetry
this is the blood sweat tears
of twenty-one years
this is my heart
in your hands
this is
the hurting
the loving
the breaking
the healing

MY RATING: 4 Starts

MY OPINION:

I am givning 4 Stars to this book for a simple reason, I think it was good, yes, I think it was amazing and some parts were really great BUT I still think it was kind of over-hyped and don’t kill me please, that’s just what I think, but I will explain everything in a second.

This book is divided in 4 parts. The first part is quite heavy and by heavy I mean it is not “pretty” you know ? A lot of people read this book and only talked about the last part of it forgetting that the first part is so important ! The first part talks about abuse, rape and trauma, that’s a huge reality in this world and even knowing that people always choose to talk about what’s “pretty” in this book that is the last part of the book/last chapter I guess entitled “The Healing”.

In this kind of book I always like to use sticky notes so I can remember which poems I liked the most, and I used a total of 14 sticky notes, that’s not a lot I know but those were the ones I could “relate” with, those were the ones I liked the most, I liked some other poems too of course but these 14 were for me simply the best.

My favorite parts of this book were the first part that was entitled “The Hurting” and the last part that was entitled “The Healing”, everything that was written in this book was important so you can understand the process of everything but these two “chapters” for me were just WOW, the last one that is “The Healing” was the one I could relate with the most and I guess that’s what everyone feels when reading this book because I feel like Rupi Kaur wrote that last part of the book for the reader, of course she wrote the whole book for the people who were going to read this piece of work but she also wrote it for herself that’s what I feel and understand reading this book but that last part is really powerful and I really really think it was written for us, it was written especially for us women so we could relate with everything, so we would not feel alone (if that makes sense in your head). The first chapter “The Hurting”, the other way around, I feel like it was written by the author to herself you know ?! It was like she needed that to keep going, she needed to “manifest” what happened to her, she needed to write it down and make it look real for us to understand, that a way she propably found to open everyone’s eyes about abuse, rape and family issues but I can’t help but thinking that the first chapter was written for her by herself.

I totally recommend this book to everyone, it is a fast reading, it is really beautiful and it can really open you eyes. I just recommend to you that you read this book with all of your attention because there are some things that I feel that you can’t understand right away only by reading the poems, especially in the first part of this book, so keep your eyes open.

__________________________________________________________________

THE BOOK DEPOSITORY LINK

Leave a Reply

