Author: Rupi Kaur · Authors · Book Reviews

Book Review » The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur

Title: The Sun and Her Flowers

Author:
Rupi Kaur

Genre:
Non-fiction, Poetry.

ISBN:  9781449486792

Published: 2017

Publisher: McMeel Publishing

Format: Paperback

Pages: 256

Goodreads Synopsis: Divided into five chapters and illustrated by Kaur, the sun and her flowers is a journey of wilting, falling, rooting, rising, and blooming. A celebration of love in all its forms.
this is the recipe of life
said my mother
as she held me in her arms as i wept
think of those flowers you plant
in the garden each year
they will teach you
that people too
must wilt
fall
root
rise
in order to bloom

MY RATING: 3 Starts

MY OPINION:

To be honest with you I didn’t even know if I should write a whole review for this book… I gave to this book 3 stars only because I liked the fourth chapter that is called “rising”.

When I read poetry books I always mark the poems I like with some little paper sicks (once again I don’t know if that’s what you call it but I guess you understand what I’m trying to say here so…) and I actually marked a lot of poems, I enjoyed some of them pretty much and I really really like the way Rupi Kaur writes… my problem is I couldn’t relate with the poems in this book, I could relate a lot with poems of the fourth chapter but that’s it… the other markers I used were simply random, like poems I enjoyed here and there but nothing like the ones in “rising”.

I don’t want to be unffair and a lot of people said this book was better than “Milk and Honey” and when I read “Milk and Honey” I gave it 4 stars or 4.5 stars, I can’t remember… so for me this one wasn’t that good, but once again it is probably because I can’t relate with the poems as I could in “Milk and Honey” and maybe people that enjoyed this one more than the other one could relate more with this poems than with the other ones.

 

__________________________________________________________________

THE BOOK DEPOSITORY LINK

Leave a comment